Downing Street now on FriendFeed

With the recent downtime in twitter and the arguments around why this has been happening, I thought I would look at friendfeed as an alternative. I have to admit I like what I see, particularly the ability to create a ‘room’ to host conversations – this could be great for ad-hoc consultation activities. I’m still getting the hang of it, but it seems that friendfeed can offer a better ‘lifestream’ of UK Gov activities than shoveling press notices into twitter.

I’ll probably stick to twitter for the moment because the HMGOV feed works for me (when twitter does). Having said that, while I’m exploring friendfeed I’d like to see news I want come to me, so I’ve started aggregating UK Government feeds – I’ll add more as I find the time.

This isn’t an ‘official’ activity – but the content is. If any civil servants want to take ownership of their stream, or can suggest improvements, let me know and I’ll hand it over/do what I can.

Anyway, for now I thought I’d start with one of the more active government players in the social media space: 10 Downing Street is now on friendfeed.

7 responses to “Downing Street now on FriendFeed

  1. Didn’t know about this, good spot, Justin!

  2. Thanks Dave – I only sent it live this morning. Let me know if there is anything you think I can do to improve it.

  3. Will you be prepared to hand the URL over to them if/when it gets popular? πŸ™‚

  4. I’ve found friendfeed to be a bit intense content-wise.
    It ticks away in the background for me – updating my facebook page so I don’t have to go near the place mainly πŸ™‚

    Using it for aggregating government (and other organisation) web activity is a good idea. Be interesting to see how that evolves.

  5. Simon – very happy to talk to them about how we would do this.

  6. Pingback: Her Majesty’s news, also on friendfeed « extended reach

Leave a Reply

